Mr. Patterson's Blog

It's just like Facebook except it's boring, full of homework assignments and no fun to visit. Enjoy.

Argument Styles and the Last Lecture

Hey Thuglings,

Today we did 3 things. First, we took up that sheet I gave you for homework on the Bill Clinton speech.

Secondly, we talked a bit about different argument styles. This sheet is not one I created on computer, it’s one I photocopied out of an English text so I don’t have this one available for download. If you need an extra copy, come see me. I’ll keep several extras in class.

Thirdly, we watched the opening of “The Last Lecture” given by the late Randy Pausch. There’s a lot of good stuff here about how to give a persuasive speech (using technology, energy, eye contact, relating to your audience, humour) that you can learn. It’s also pretty moving when you know the whole story.

Here’s the video, in case you’re interested in watching the rest.

and here’s his five second cameo in the recent STAR TREK movie reboot.

Next class we start using what we’ve learned.

Have a good weekend,

Patterson

Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils 
                                             – Louis Hector Berlioz
Author: pattersonmalvern

I am a teacher at Malvern Collegiate Institute. This is a blog to help students keep track of their work.

Comments are closed.